Ready for some Plant-Based Whole30 Miso Brands? Whole30’s new Plant-Based Whole30 program allows various minimally processed forms of soy. One of the best ways to add flavor to your food is by using Miso. Miso is made from soy, which is not allowed on the original Whole30 program (rules here!), but is allowed on Whole30’s Plant-Based Program (rules here!).

What is Miso?

Miso is a savory paste made from fermented soybeans, salt and koji (a fermentation culture) cultivated from barley, rice, or seaweed. Traditionally used a seasoning in Japanese cooking, Miso adds a salty-sweet richness (sometimes called Umami) to dishes.

For most home cooks, there are 3 types of Miso- White, Yellow and Red. White Miso is light in color and the mildest in flavor (sometimes known as “sweet” miso). Yellow Miso is fermented a bit longer than White Miso and has a more concentrated flavor and is most commonly used. Red Miso has been fermented the longest and has a deep pungent flavor.

Store Miso in your refrigerator in an airtight container or in the freezer.

How do you use Miso?

Don’t fool yourself into thinking that Miso can only be used in Japanese dishes. Miso is a versatile ingredient that brings an added layer of flavor to so many dishes, regardless of the cuisine.

Miso is an excellent flavor addition to soups/stews, dressings, spreads, dips, pestos, and sauces. Mix with oil to make a glaze or marinade for vegetables. Use white miso like butter and spread on toast or add to mashed potatoes! There really is so much you can do with miso.

What to avoid when purchasing Miso?

When shopping for Miso, look for products with the minimal amount of ingredients, just soybeans, koji, and salt and that allows for natural fermentation. Avoid brands that contain preservatives, and additives such as dashi or MSG. Look for brands that are un-pasteurized and found in the refrigeration section. Pasteurization can kill the beneficial probiotics found in fermented foods. You also want to be sure there’s no gluten on the label. Specifically seeking out a certified gluten-free miso is advised if you have Celiac Disease.

Can I have rice in miso on the Plant-Based Whole30?

Yes! Here’s a quote from the Whole30 team:

Rice is often used for the fermentation and processing of certain forms of soy, such as miso and tempeh. In order to provide enough plant-based protein and include as many traditional and culturally significant foods during the Plant-Based Whole30, rice listed as an ingredient on miso and tempeh products is allowed.

Gluten-Free Miso Brands: 

Not all miso is gluten free because the koji starter base can be made with gluten-containing grains like wheat, barley, and rye.

Here is a list of certified gluten free miso brands: (more detailed info below)

  • Hikari Miso
  • Miso Master

Plant-Based Whole30 Miso Brands:

Miso Master

Miso Master Organic Sweet White MisoPlant-Based Whole30 Miso Miso Master

Ingredients: Organic handmade rice koji, organic whole soybeans, sun-dried sea salt, Blue Ridge Mountain well water, koji spores.


Miso Master Organic Mellow White MisoCertified Gluten Free Miso Miso Master

Ingredients: Organic whole soybeans, organic handmade rice koji, sun-dried sea salt, Blue Ridge Mountain well water, koji spores

Miso Master Organic Traditional Red Miso

Ingredients: Organic whole soybeans, organic handmade rice koji, sun-dried sea salt, Blue Ridge Mountain well water, koji spores

Gluten Free Miso Miso Master Shop for Miso Master online at or at Amazon

South River

South River Organic Sweet White MisoOrganic Miso Brands

Ingredients: Deep well water, lightly polished organic brown rice, organic soybeans, sun-dried sea salt, organic sea vegetables, and koji culture

Find South River online via their website or on Amazon


Eden Organic Shiro Miso

Ingredients: Organic Rice, Organic Whole Hulled Soybeans, Water, Sea Salt, Koji (Aspergillus oryzae)

Eden Organic Genmai MisoWhole30 Miso Brands

Ingredients: Organic Whole Soybeans, Organic Brown Rice, Sea Salt, Water, Koji (Aspergillus Oryzae)

Eden Organic Hacho Miso

Ingredients: Organic Whole Soybeans, Water, Sea Salt, Organic Roasted Barley Flour, Koji (Aspergillus oryzae)

Buy Eden Miso online via the Eden website or on Amazon

Thrive MarketCertified Organic Miso Brands

Thrive Market Organic White Miso Paste

Ingredients: Water, Organic Rice, Organic Soybeans, Salt

Thrive Market Organic Brown Miso Paste

Ingredients: Water, Organic Soybeans, Organic Brown Rice, Salt

Buy online at Thrive Market

Hikari Miso

Hikari Organic White MisoPlant-Based Whole30 Miso Brands

Ingredients: Water, Organic Soybeans, Organic Rice, Salt, Yeast, Koji Culture

Hikari Organic Red Miso

Ingredients: Water, Organic Soybeans, Organic Rice, Salt, Yeast, Koji Culture

Buy Hikari Miso online at Amazon


Want to save this Plant-Based Whole30 Resource post for later? Pin it Here!